Louisiana Personal Injury Laws That Can Make or Break Your Case

Louisiana Personal Injury Laws That Can Make or Break Your Case

As if making the decision to pursue your personal injury claim wasn’t difficult enough, there are many Louisiana laws that can impact whether your case will be successful.

Fortunately, when you work with an experienced personal injury attorney in Louisiana, you will have a highly trained professional by your side who will be well-versed in these laws and will therefore be prepared to fight for the compensation you deserve. Below, we discuss the statute of limitations and negligence laws and how they can influence the outcome of your case.

Your Claim Could Be Over Before It Starts

It’s possible that your accident claim will be finished before it even has a chance to be successful if you fail to file your claim before the state’s statute of limitations expires.

The clock will start running from the date that you were involved in an accident, or from the date that you are diagnosed with an injury relating to the accident. It will continue to run for one year, at which point the statute of limitations will have ended in Louisiana.

If your claim isn’t filed before this deadline, then your case will be barred from the Louisiana court system, and you will no longer have the chance to secure the compensation you need to pick up the pieces of your life.

Thankfully, your attorney will have a complete understanding of how the statute of limitations works in personal injury claims and when it will expire in your case, so you can rest assured that your claim should be filed before time runs out, assuming you reach out to your attorney in good time.

Being Partially Liable for Causing the Accident

In addition to the statute of limitations, the state’s negligence laws could have an impact on the success of your claim. Louisiana follows pure comparative negligence law. This means that individuals who are partially at fault for the cause of the accident they were involved in are still able to pursue compensation from the other involved party.

However, the amount that the injury victim will be awarded will be reduced based on the percentage of blame they carry. An example could be if the injury victim was 20 percent to blame for the cause of the accident and was awarded a sum of $500,000. This award will then reflect a 20 percent deduction of $100,000, and their final award would be just $400,000.

As you can see, the comparative negligence statute can dramatically impact the amount you will be awarded for your injury claim, and you can be sure that your attorney will work to ensure that only an appropriate amount of fault is placed on you when you go to court.

Get Help from a Louisiana Personal Injury Lawyer

The laws surrounding civil lawsuits are complex, but when you have a regarded Louisiana personal injury lawyer at the Law Office of Braud & Gallagher by your side, you can focus on recovering rather than on the rules of litigation.

Look over our personal injury FAQs for additional details about the personal injury claim process, then take advantage of your complimentary claim review today when you give our office a call at 1-800-256-5674 or fill out the brief contact form we have included at the bottom of this page.

What Are a Seaman’s Rights under the Jones Act?

If you’re a seaman who has suffered a serious injury, you may be able to file a claim against your employer under the Jones Act. This will allow you to obtain the compensation you need to continue supporting yourself and your family while you recuperate from your injuries. Below, we discuss which workers are considered to be seamen and what you need to do in order to win your case.

Which Workers Are Considered Seamen?

For a worker to be classified as a seaman, they will need to do a significant amount of their work on any type of vessel. This could include a boat, cruise ship, ferry boats, or barges, to name a few. If you are a part-time employee who works on a vessel, you must devote at least 30 percent of your hours to this work to qualify as a seaman under the Jones Act.

Due to the fact that maritime law, and the Jones Act, are quite complex, if you’ve been injured at work and you aren’t sure whether or not you’ll be considered a seaman who can file a claim under the Jones Act, you should speak with a New Orleans Jones Act lawyer as soon as possible.

Negligence and Proving Unseaworthiness

Now that we’ve established which maritime employees are considered seamen, you may be wondering how you’ll prove employer liability. Thankfully, the Jones Act is one of the most employee-friendly laws across the United States.

Under the Jones Act, your employer is required to provide a safe work environment for every employee at every moment. This means that they are obligated to correct any safety hazards immediately so that seamen are able to work in reasonably safe conditions.

If at any point your employer fails to maintain this safe work environment, then the vessel you work on may be deemed unseaworthy and your employer may be found negligent. Even if some other contributing factor is primarily responsible for the cause of your injuries, your employer being even 1 percent at fault enables you to bring a claim against them under the Jones Act.

Damages You’re Entitled To

Once we establish liability, you’ll be able to obtain the compensation that’s rightfully yours. This includes coverage for the following losses:

  • Pain and suffering
  • Lost wages
  • Emotional distress
  • Loss of enjoyment of life
  • Loss of companionship and love
  • Property damages
  • Damage to your earning capacity
  • Inconvenience

You’re also entitled to maintenance and cure. Maintenance is the coverage of your household expenses, including utilities, your rent or mortgage, and groceries, while cure refers to the coverage of every medical expense you incur as a result of your at-sea and offshore injuries.

Get in Touch with a Jones Act Lawyer in New Orleans

When you aren’t sure if you can file a claim under the Jones Act, or if you have additional questions regarding your rights as a seaman, reach out to an experienced New Orleans Jones Act lawyer at Braud & Gallagher as soon as possible. Simply fill out the online contact form below or give our office a call at 1-800-256-5674.